Word By Word

April 2018


In honor of Eliza Waite’s second book birthday on May 16 and her celebrated success as the winner of the 2017 Nancy Pearl Book Award and finalist for the Sarton Women’s Book Award and WILLA Literary Award, I’m featuring 16 award-winning authors in this month’s newsletter.


Authors include current favorites, sister She Writes Press authors, the 2016 Nancy Pearl Award recipient, and two acclaimed novelists from Women Writing the West, sponsors of the WILLA Literary Award.


Special note: Congratulations to Mary Dingee Fillmore, whose novel, An Address in Amsterdam, bested Eliza Waite for last year’s Sarton Women’s Book Award and to Julie Weston, whose novel Basque Moon, bested Eliza Waite for last year’s WILLA Literary Award.


Take time to peruse this list—you might find your next favorite author!


Favorite Contemporary Authors:

Geraldine Brooks www.geraldinebrooks.com

Paula McLain www.paulamclain.com

Barbara Kingsolver www.kingsolver.com

Sue Monk Kidd www.suemonkkidd.com

Paulette Jiles www.paulettejiles.com

Tracy Chevalier www.tchevalier.com

Melanie Benjamin www.melaniebenjamin.com


2016 Nancy Pearl Award Winner:

Kelli Estes www.kelliestes.com


Award Winners from She Writes Press:

Ellen Notbohm www.ellennotbohm.com

Barbara Stark Nemon www.barbarastarknemon.com

Mary Dingee Fillmore www.maryfillmore.com

Laurel Davis Huber www.laureldavishuber.com

Michelle Cox www.michellecoxauthor.com

Barbara Ridley www.barbararidley.com


Acclaimed Authors from Women Writing the West:

Jane Kirkpatrick www.jkbooks.com

Julie Weston www.julieweston.com












January 2018

February 2018

March 2018

April 2018

May 2018

June 2018

July 2018

August 2018

September 2018

October 2018

November 2018

December 2018

CONNECT WITH ASHLEY

©2016 Ashley E. Sweeney, all rights reserved.